Relationships, Singleness

When Everyone Else is Getting Engaged

Within the past two years it seems I’ve know a lot of couples who’ve gotten married or engaged. (Just today I found out about two young ladies at church that had recently gotten engaged). This is serious, people aren’t just dating anymore. I think I could’ve handled dating. Marriage is a huge step, it’s almost mind-blowing to me. Most of these couples are in their early twenties or late teens. It just seems almost preposterous to me, especially when there are virtually no potentials on my horizon.

Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. Romans 12:15

Even though I can’t personally relate to the joy of these couples, I’m thrilled for them. What an exciting season of life to be in! It’s awesome to see christian couples coming together and becoming families, it’s a great example for the world to see. We are called to rejoice with those who rejoice, to join in their excitement and to be happy for them. Sometimes i’d rather just cry and ask: why not me? What’s so good about that girl? I guess I’m just not on that level spiritually or mature enough. Overall I don’t want to be stuck in a selfish rut, I want to be happy for these people and support them and pray for them. Yes, I’m not at that point in my life, but they are and this is exciting for them. As hard as it may be sometimes, I want to be reminded to “rejoice with those who rejoice”.

Young Marriage (17).png


IF YOU LIKED THIS POST BE SURE TO CLICK BELOW TO SHARE

1 thought on “When Everyone Else is Getting Engaged”

Leave a Reply

